Earth Hour

Thursday, December 1, 2011

2012 Philippine Holidays Announced

Time to set your calendars! Malacanang has announced the holidays for next year. There will be 16 non-working days in 2012 per Proclamation 95 signed by the President recently.  These include 10 regular holidays, five special non-working holidays and one special holiday.

Mark these days on your calendars:

Regular Holidays
New Year’s Day: January 1 (Sunday)
Maundy Thursday: April 5
Good Friday: April 6
Araw ng Kagitingan: April 9 (Monday)
Labor Day: May 1 (Tuesday)
Independence Day: June 12 (Tuesday)
National Heroes Day: August 27 (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day: November 30 (Friday)
Christmas Day: December 25 (Tuesday)
Rizal Day: December 30 (Sunday)

Special (Non-Working) Days
Chinese New Year: January 23 (Monday)
Ninoy Aquino Day: August 21 (Tuesday)
All Saints Day: November 1 (Thursday)
Additional special (non-working) day: November 2 (Friday)
Last Day of the Year: December 31 (Monday

Special Holiday (for all schools)
EDSA Revolution Anniversary: February 25 (Saturday)

As you can see on the list, November 2 has been declared a special non working day.  This is, according to the proclamation,“to give full opportunity to our people to properly observe All Saints’ Day with all its religious fervor which invariably requires them to travel to and from different regions in the country.” Usually, only November 1 (All Saints’ Day) is declared a holiday.

The observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha will be declared as national holiday in separate proclamations once determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar.

No comments:

Post a Comment